Board of Directors

Dr. Thomas Robert Bates, Jr. 

Chairman of Tidewater Inc.

Former Managing Director & Senior Advisor, Lime Rock Partners 


Dr. Thomas Robert Bates, Jr. has 40 years of experience in oil service management and operations, and energy private equity.  Dr. Bates served as a Managing Director and Senior Advisor at Lime Rock Partners from 2002 to 2012.  He also served as Senior Vice President and Discovery Group President at Baker Hughes Incorporated from 1998 to 2000, and as the Chief Executive Officer of Weatherford Enterra, Inc. from June 1997 to May 1998.  Dr. Bates began his career with Shell Oil Company and was responsible for aspects of drilling research and drilling operations.


Dr. Bates has been an Adjunct Professor at the Neeley School of Business at Texas Christian University since January 2011 and currenlty serves as the Co-Chair of the Advisory Board for the Energy MBA Program.


Dr. Bates also serves as a Director on the Boards of Alacer Gold Corp. and TETRA Technologies, Inc. and serves as the Chairman and Director of Vantage Drilling International and Independence Contract Drilling.  Dr. Bates previously served as the Chairman and Director of Hercules Offshore.


Dr. Bates holds a B.S.E., M.S.E., and PhD. degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Michigan.




Alan Carr - Chairman of Nominating & Corporate Governance Committee

CEO, Drivetrain LLC


Mr. Alan Carr has served as the Chief Executive Officer of Drivetrain LLC since 2013.  He previously served as a Managing Director at Strategic Value Partners from 2003 to 2013.  Mr. Carr was also a corporate restructuring attorney at Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meager & Flom from 1997 to 2003 and at Ravin, Sarasohn, Baumgarten, Fisch & Rosen from 1995 to 1997.


He currently serves as a Director on the Boards of Kaupthing ehf, Verso Corporation, Midstates Petroleum, and Tanker Investments, Ltd.  He formerly served as a Director on the Board of LightSquared Inc.  Mr. Carr has previously, and does currently, serve on several boards of directors in diverse industries and throughout the world.


Mr. Carr received a Bachelor of Arts in Economics from Brandeis University in 1992 and Juris Doctorate from Tulane Law School in 1995.




Randee Day

CEO, Goldin Maritime, LLC


Ms. Randee Day is the Chief Executive Officer of Goldin Maritime, LLC, where she also leads the maritime and offshore practice area.  She previoulsy led the boutique restructuring and advisory firm Day & Partners, LLC.  Ms. Day was also a Managing Director at the Seabury Group, a transporation advisory firm, where she led the Maritime practice.  She also was the Division Head of JP Morgan's shipping group in New York.


Ms. Day currently serves as a Director on the Board of Eagle Bulk Inc.  In 2016 she joined the board of International Seaways, Inc. and in 2011 she served as the interim Chief Executive Officer of DHT, Maritime, Inc.  Ms. Day has also served on the Boards of numerous public companies, including TBS International Ltd., Ocean Rig ASA, DHT Maritime Inc. and Excel Maritime.


Ms. Day is a graduate of the School of International Relations at the Univeristy of Southern California and undertook graduate business studies a the George Washington University in Washington, D.C.  In December 2014 she graduated from the Senior Executives in National and International Security Program at the Kennedy School at Harvard University.





Dick Fagerstal - Chairman of Audit Committee

Chairman and CEO, Global Marine Holdings LLC

and Executive Chairman, Global Marine Systems Ltd.


Mr. Dick Fagerstal serves as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Global Marine Holdings LLC and Executive Chairman of Global Marine Systems Ltd. since 2014.


He served as an independent Director of the Board of Frontier Oil Corporation, Manila, Philippines from 2014 to 2017.


He previously held the position of Senior Vice President, Finance & Corporate Development from 2003 to 2014 and as Vice President Finance & Treasurer from 1997 to 2003 at Secor Holdings, Inc. (NYSE: "CKH").  Mr. Fagerstal was the Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer and Director of Era Group Inc. (NYSE: "ERA") from 2011 to 2012.  Mr. Fagerstal was the Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer and Director of Chiles Offshore Inc. (AMEX: "COD") from 1997 to 2002 and served as a banker in various positions at DnB NOR Bank ASA in New York form 1986 to 1997.  Previous to that he served in the Royal Swedish Army (Special Forces) from 1979 to 1983.


Mr. Fagerstal received a Bachelor of Science in Economics from the University of Gothenburg in 1984 and a MBA in Finance as a Fulbright Scholar from New York University in 1986.





Steven Newman - Chairman of Compensation Committee

Former CEO and President, Transocean Ltd.


Mr. Steven Newman served as the Chief Executive Officer at Transocean Ltd. from March 2010 to February 2015 and as President from May 2008 to February 2015.  He served as the Chief Operating Officer of Transocean Ltd. from May 2008 to November 2009 and held various other position with Transocean beginning in 1994.  Prior to working with Transocean, he served as a Financial Analyst at Chevron from 1992 to 1994, and was a Reservoir Engineer with Mobil E&P, US from 1989 to 1990.


Mr. Newman has served as a Director of Dril-Quip, Inc. since August 2015 and a Director of SNC-Lavalin Group Inc. since November 2015.  He also previously served as a Director of Transocean Ltd., from May 2010 to February 2015 and a Director of Bumi Armada Berhad from 2015 to 2017.


Mr. Newman received a Bachelor of Science in Petroleum Engineering from the Colorado School of Mines in 1989 and a MBA from the Harvard University Graduate School of Business in 1992.




Jeffrey M. Platt 

President, CEO and Director

Jeff graduated from the University of Pittsburgh with a Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical Engineering in 1979 and completed the Harvard Advanced Management Program in 2006.


Following a 15-year career with Schlumberger Well Services and Rollins Environmental Services, Jeff joined Tidewater in 1996 as General Manager of Tidewater's business activities in Brazil.  In September 2001, he assumed responsibility for Tidewater's joint ventures and business in Mexico.  In November 2001, Jeff was promoted to Vice President, with responsibility for all of Tidewater's business activities in South America, Mexico and the Caribbean.  In March 2004, he was promoted to Senior Vice President with responsibility over operations in the Americas, along with the Middle East and India.  In July 2006, Jeff was promoted to Executive Vice President responsible for overseeing the day-to-day marine operations of the Company, both domestically and internationally and, in March 2010, was promoted to Chief Operating Officer of Tidewater.


On June 1, 2012, Jeff was promoted to President and Chief Executive Officer of Tidewater.





Larry Rigdon

Former Chairman and CEO, Rigdon Marine


Mr. Larry Rigdon has nearly 40 years of experience in the offshore oil and gas industry.  He served as the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Rigdon Marine from 2002 to 2008.  Previously, he served in several officer roles at Tidewater Inc., Zapata Gulf Marine, Gulf Marine Fleet from 1992 to 2002, 1985 to 1992, and 1977 to 1985.  Mr. Rigdon has also worked as a consultant for FTI Consulting from 2015 to 2016 and Duff and Phelps, LLC from 2010 to 2011.


Mr. Rigdon currently serves as Director on the Board of Professional Rental Tools, LLC.  He formerly served as a Director on the Boards of Jackson Offshore Holdings, Terresolve Technologies, Gulfmark Offshore, and Rigdon Marine.  He received his Bachelor of Science from Truman State University in 1970 and completed the Advanced Management Program at Harvard University in 1998.





Tidewater has relocated its New Orleans, LA office effective June 17, 2013 to :
601 Poydras Street
Suite 1500
New Orleans, LA 70130